Hip vs knee exoskeleton: Hypershell X and Dnsys X1 against Dnsys Z1
Hip exoskeletons such as the Hypershell X Series and Dnsys X1 are worn at the waist and assist the hip. The Dnsys Z1 is worn on the legs, with a powered joint at each knee. On paper they differ in listed weight, batteries and price; we found no independent test comparing the two designs.
On paper
| As published | Hypershell X Max S | Dnsys X1 Carbon | Dnsys Z1 Dual Joint |
|---|---|---|---|
| Batteries in the box | 1 standard battery[1]Box list read on Hypershell's Japan store; the X Ultra S ships with two Anti-Cold Batteries instead. | 1[2] | 1 Plus Battery[3] |
| Battery capacity | 72 Wh[4] | Not stated[2, 5] | Not stated[3] |
| Range (manufacturer figure) | 30 km in Eco 30 mode[1, 4] | 15 km[2] | 15 km[3]Dnsys says actual battery life varies with terrain, conditions and assist mode. |
| Peak power | 1,000 W[4] | Not stated[2]The page claims “1.2 Horsepower” without saying for which configuration or whether it is peak output. | 900 W[3] |
| Weight as listed | 2,571 g wearing weight[1, 4]Wearing weight includes the main structure, soft pack and one battery. | 1.6 kg mechanical weight[2]A page-wide figure; it does not say which configuration or whether the battery is included. | 680 g per leg (machine weight)[3]Whether the battery is included is not stated. |
| Water and dust rating | IP54[4] | IP54[2, 5]Dnsys says it resists splashing water but should not be used in heavy rain or submerged. | IP54; cold tolerance to −20 °C[3] |
Each brand states weight on a different basis: Hypershell’s wearing weight includes one battery[1]; Dnsys gives a mechanical weight for the X1 and a machine weight per leg for the Z1, without saying whether batteries are included[2, 3].
Price
| Configuration | US | UK | Canada | Australia |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hypershell X Max S | $1,499[6] | £1,299[7] | CA$2,199[8] | A$2,499[9] |
| Dnsys X1 Lite | $689[2] | US$689[2] | US$689[2] | US$689[2]Australia is not listed in the Dnsys shipping policy; confirm delivery before you order. |
| Dnsys X1 Carbon | $889 regular $1,299[2] | US$889 regular US$1,299[2] | US$889 regular US$1,299[2] | US$889 regular US$1,299[2]Australia is not listed in the Dnsys shipping policy; confirm delivery before you order. |
| Dnsys X1 Carbon Pro | $1,289[2] | US$1,289[2] | US$1,289[2] | US$1,289[2]Australia is not listed in the Dnsys shipping policy; confirm delivery before you order. |
| Dnsys Z1 Dual Joint | $1,299 regular $1,499[3, 10] | US$1,299 regular US$1,499[10] | US$1,299 regular US$1,499[10] | US$1,299 regular US$1,499[10]Australia is not listed in the Dnsys shipping policy; confirm delivery before you order. |
| Dnsys Z1 Dual Joint Pro | $1,999[3] | US$1,999[10] | US$1,999[10] | US$1,999[10]Australia is not listed in the Dnsys shipping policy; confirm delivery before you order. |
Prices as shown on each brand's official store for that country on the check date, in the currency the store charges (local currency, or US dollars where a brand sells only in dollars). We don't convert currencies or add taxes.
Who the brands say can use them
| What the brand says | Hypershell | Dnsys |
|---|---|---|
| Who the brand says can use it | “Requires unassisted walking and balance.” The product page says it is designed for people who can walk independently.[6] | Written for the X1: you should be able to walk unaided at 1 m/s (about 3.6 km/h) or faster; “If you have limited balance capabilities, DNSYS is not your choice”; not recommended if you have skeletal, muscular or neurological issues.[5] |
| Medical device status | Not FDA-approved or classified as a medical device. Hypershell does not recommend it for medical purposes or as a substitute for medical treatment or assistive devices.[6, 11]The US product page also says “Not a medical aid.” | The FAQ says the X1 “is not a medical device” and asks users to follow medical advice.[5] |
Dnsys’s requirements are written for the X1; the Z1 pages we read list fit ranges but no separate health requirements[3].
What we couldn’t find
We found no independent test that compares hip-worn and knee-worn consumer exoskeletons on the same people. Dnsys’s knee-load figures for the Z1 are marketing claims without a published method[3], and its FAQ says the X1 is not recommended for people with skeletal, muscular or neurological issues[5]. If you’re considering an exoskeleton because of knee pain, ask a clinician; we can’t tell you which design would help.
Sources
- Manufacturer New Hypershell X Series product page: FAQ and in-the-box list (Japan store, in Japanese). Hypershell. Checked , read in a browser, including the page's structured data.
- Manufacturer Dnsys X1 hip exoskeleton product page. Dnsys. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended). Rechecked with the store set to the UK, Canada and Australia: the same US-dollar prices.
- Manufacturer Dnsys Z1 exoskeleton page (specs and FAQ). Dnsys. Checked , page text read.
- Manufacturer Hypershell X Ultra S vs X Max S vs X Pro S: which one fits your adventure style (Hypershell UK blog). Hypershell, published Jul 23, 2026. Checked , page text read.
- Manufacturer Dnsys FAQ. Dnsys. Checked , page text read.
- Manufacturer New Hypershell X Series product page (US store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
- Manufacturer New Hypershell X Series product page (UK store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
- Manufacturer New Hypershell X Series product page (Canada store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
- Manufacturer New Hypershell X Series product page (Australia store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
- Manufacturer Dnsys Z1 exoskeleton product page. Dnsys. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended). Rechecked with the store set to the UK, Canada and Australia: the same US-dollar prices.
- Manufacturer Are Hypershell products suitable for medical use?. Hypershell Help Center. Checked , read in a browser, including the page's structured data. The article shows only a relative date ("Updated 6 days ago").