Hypershell · Hip-worn · Previous generation

Hypershell X Ultra (discontinued): price, specs and terms

The previous-generation flagship. Hypershell now marks it as discontinued and points buyers to the X Ultra S; the US page still shows US$1,599 against a US$1,999 regular price.

Checked against official sources on

Official Hypershell pageOpens the brand's own site. No affiliate link.

The X Ultra was Hypershell’s flagship before the New X Series. Its product page now says “Product discontinued” and points to the X Ultra S, yet still shows a US price, with a purchase area that reads both “Sold out” and “In stock”[1]. Check that you can actually order it before you plan around the discount.

Hypershell lists earlier models’ weight as net weight and the S models’ as wearing weight with one battery, and says the two figures can’t be compared directly[2].

Check before you order

  • The box lists two batteries but no charger; the page offers a free 65 W charger only as a limited-time promotion while supplies last[1].
  • Compare with its replacement: X Ultra vs X Ultra S.
  • We only checked the US store for this model.
  • Ask whether the usual warranty and return terms apply to discontinued stock.

Price by country

ConfigurationUSUKCanadaAustralia
X Ultra$1,599 regular $1,999[1, 3]The page marks the product discontinued, and its purchase area shows both “Sold out” and “In stock”.£1,499 regular £1,599[4]CA$2,499 regular CA$2,899[5]A$3,199[6]

Prices as shown on each brand's official store for that country on the check date, in the currency the store charges (local currency, or US dollars where a brand sells only in dollars). We don't convert currencies or add taxes.

Each country store was checked for this model.

Every model side by side, with accessories, shipping and duties: exoskeleton prices by country.

Published specs

Manufacturer figures as published, with the basis the brand gives. We have not measured them.

Batteries in the box2[1]
Battery capacity72 Wh each[1]Listed in the comparison table on the product page.
Range (manufacturer figure)30 km per battery[1, 7]The 2025 launch post adds up to 65 km of cycling on a single charge.
Peak power1,000 W[1, 7]
Motor torqueNot stated[1]
Fastest assisted paceNot stated[1]
Assist modesIncludes Snow, Dune, Running+, Cycling+, Eco and Hyper[7]The blog post does not give a total count.
Weight as listed1.8 kg[1, 2]Earlier models list net weight, while the S models list wearing weight with one battery; Hypershell says the two can't be compared directly. The page doesn't say whether batteries are included.
Operating temperatureNot stated[1]
Water and dust ratingIP54[1]From the comparison table on the product page, which lists every model as IP54.
In the boxExoskeleton, 2 batteries, USB-C cable, warranty card, user manual[1]No charger is listed in the box; the page offers a free 65 W charger as a limited-time promotion while supplies last.

Returns, warranty and shipping

HypershellUSUKCanadaAustralia
Return window14 calendar days from receipt[8]14 calendar days from receipt[9]14 calendar days from receipt[10]14 calendar days from receipt[11]
Change-of-mind return of an opened unitConflicting
  • Return policy: the 14-day conditions include a unit that is “unopened, unactivated, and in like-new condition”, and units used beyond assessment are excluded.[8]
  • Help Center: within 14 days an open-box unit in like-new condition can be returned; for returns based on preference or dissatisfaction, the buyer pays return shipping.[12]
  • Product page: a “14-Day Returns” badge and a service bar reading “14-Day Return” and “Return Anytime”.[13]
Before you open or activate the unit, ask Hypershell in writing whether a change-of-mind return is accepted in your country and what it will cost.
Who pays return shippingHypershell pays for confirmed defects or shipping errors. For other returns the buyer pays, and if testing finds no defect, shipping costs may be deducted from the refund.[8, 9, 10, 11]
Deductions from a refundNo restocking fee is stated. Return shipping can be deducted when testing finds no defect.[8, 9, 10, 11]
Warranty1 year; the product page shows “12-Month Warranty Protection”[13, 14]Conflicting
  • Warranty policy: 2 years for customers in the EU, Switzerland, Norway and the UK[14]
  • UK product page: “12-Month Warranty Protection”[15]
Ask which period applies to your order and keep the answer.
1 year; the product page shows “12-Month Warranty Protection”[14, 16]1 year; the product page shows “12-Month Warranty Protection”[14, 17]
ShippingFree shipping; in stock and ready to ship within 2 business days[13]Free shipping; in stock and ready to ship within 2 business days[15]Free shipping[16]Free shipping[17]
Duties and taxesOfficial-store orders numbered #HSGL or #HSEU include taxes in what you pay. If a carrier still sends a tax notice after a customs inspection, Hypershell says not to pay it and that it will settle the tax. Crowdfunding and early pre-orders do not include tax. The US, UK and Canada stores add taxes at checkout; the Australia store shows prices with tax included.[18, 19, 20]The stores do not say which order-number prefix each country gets; check your order confirmation.
Trying one before you buyTry-On Nearby lists US retail stores, such as Appalachian Trail Outfitters (Luray, VA) and Boost Experience Center (Shelby, NC), plus Host Program owners. The Help Center says Hypershell has physical stores or display locations.[21, 22, 23]Free Host Program: owners host try-ons; Hypershell reviews each request, and a meet-up is not guaranteed.[24]Try-On Nearby lists Host Program owners in the Greater Toronto Area (weekends) and Comox, BC (weekends, 2–3 days’ notice), a Calgary host whose in-person visits are paused, and Rundle Bike stores in Canmore and Calgary, AB. Hypershell reviews each Host request.[21]Try-On Nearby lists no host or store in Australia; it offers a sign-up to be told when a try-on becomes available nearby.[21]

Terms are set by the brand, not by model. More detail by country: exoskeleton return policies.

Who Hypershell says can use it

Who the brand says can use it“Requires unassisted walking and balance.” The product page says it is designed for people who can walk independently.[13]
Medical device statusNot FDA-approved or classified as a medical device. Hypershell does not recommend it for medical purposes or as a substitute for medical treatment or assistive devices.[13, 22]The US product page also says “Not a medical aid.”
Fit checkMeasure height, weight, waist, hip width and thigh length and compare them with the size chart. Hypershell's BMI rule: 16–34 is “generally suitable”; below 16 or above 34 the current model is not suitable and it does not recommend buying.[25, 26]The size ranges are published as images and were not read. The FAQ says the adjustable frame covers about 80% of adult sizes.
Battery on a planeEach battery is 5,000 mAh / 72 Wh. Hypershell says this is within the 100 Wh limit in FAA PackSafe rules; carry batteries in cabin baggage, not checked bags, and check with your airline first.[27, 28]The Help Center article does not name models; the New X Series spec table lists 72 Wh batteries.

We report what the brand states. This is not medical advice; see what the brands require.

Sources

  1. Manufacturer Hypershell X Ultra product page (US store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
  2. Manufacturer New Hypershell X Series product page: FAQ and in-the-box list (Japan store, in Japanese). Hypershell. Checked , read in a browser, including the page's structured data.
  3. Manufacturer Hypershell X Series product page, previous generation (US store). Hypershell. Checked , page text read.
  4. Manufacturer Hypershell X Ultra product page (UK store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Price read from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
  5. Manufacturer Hypershell X Ultra product page (Canada store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Price read from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
  6. Manufacturer Hypershell X Ultra product page (Australia store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Price read from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
  7. Manufacturer Meet Hypershell X Ultra (Hypershell blog). Hypershell, published Sep 8, 2025. Checked , page text read.
  8. Manufacturer Return and Replacement Policy (Hypershell Global / US store). Hypershell. Checked , page text read.
  9. Manufacturer Return and Replacement Policy (Hypershell UK). Hypershell. Checked , page text read.
  10. Manufacturer Return and Replacement Policy (Hypershell CA). Hypershell. Checked , page text read.
  11. Manufacturer Return and Replacement Policy (Hypershell AU). Hypershell. Checked , page text read.
  12. Manufacturer Can I return my exoskeleton if it's not what I expected?. Hypershell Help Center. Checked , read in a browser, including the page's structured data. The article shows only a relative date ("Updated 6 days ago").
  13. Manufacturer New Hypershell X Series product page (US store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
  14. Manufacturer Warranty Policy (Hypershell Global). Hypershell. Checked , page text read.
  15. Manufacturer New Hypershell X Series product page (UK store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
  16. Manufacturer New Hypershell X Series product page (Canada store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
  17. Manufacturer New Hypershell X Series product page (Australia store). Hypershell. Checked , read through the site's data API. Prices rechecked on 2026-10-28 from the store's public product data for this page (the page URL with .js appended).
  18. Manufacturer Why do I need to pay taxes or additional costs on my order, and are they included in the purchase price?. Hypershell Help Center. Checked , read in a browser, including the page's structured data. The article shows only a relative date ("Updated 6 days ago").
  19. Manufacturer Why did I receive a tax payment notice from the carrier, even though taxes were included in my order?. Hypershell Help Center. Checked , read in a browser, including the page's structured data. The article shows only a relative date ("Updated 6 days ago").
  20. Manufacturer Cart summary on the US, UK, Canada and Australia stores. Hypershell. Checked , page text read. The US, UK and Canada carts read “Taxes and shipping calculated at checkout”; the Australia cart reads “Tax included.”
  21. Manufacturer Try Hypershell Exoskeletons Before You Buy (Try-On Nearby directory). Hypershell. Checked , page text read. The same directory is served on the Canada store. Listings change; check the page before you travel.
  22. Manufacturer Are Hypershell products suitable for medical use?. Hypershell Help Center. Checked , read in a browser, including the page's structured data. The article shows only a relative date ("Updated 6 days ago").
  23. Manufacturer Hypershell Ushers in the "Offline Era" of Consumer Exoskeletons at Outdoor Retailer 2026. Hypershell via PR Newswire (republished by Webull), published Aug 18, 2026. Checked , page text read.
  24. Manufacturer Want to try Hypershell X? Meet a Host near you (Hypershell UK blog). Hypershell, published Aug 27, 2026. Checked , page text read.
  25. Manufacturer Size Chart (Hypershell CA store). Hypershell. Checked , page text read. The measurement ranges are published as images; only the text (measurements and BMI rule) was read.
  26. Manufacturer Hypershell FAQ (US store). Hypershell. Checked , page text read.
  27. Manufacturer Can I take the Hypershell battery on an airplane?. Hypershell Help Center. Checked , read in a browser, including the page's structured data. The article shows only a relative date ("Updated 6 days ago") and does not name models.
  28. Manufacturer Hypershell X Ultra S vs X Max S vs X Pro S: which one fits your adventure style (Hypershell UK blog). Hypershell, published Jul 23, 2026. Checked , page text read.